Scale it, Crop it, Spin it, quick, reframe it.

Please listen to this song as you read my tutorial.

So, I’ll be teaching you how to scale, crop, and rotate images on screen. I ran into the problem of filming vertically without realizing how it’d turn on in Adobe. I know it’s not a cool tutorial, but it’s practical and you might need it at some point!

1. Select clip that needs to rotated and cropped. The screen might look this at first.

Screen Shot 2014-09-18 at 5.15.22 PM

2. Double click on the clip in the preview and the scaling measures will appear. If the frame is too big, like mine, drag the frame until you see the edge of the video frame. The clip will be outlined in white and have six squares for scaling.

Screen Shot 2014-09-18 at 5.15.36 PM

3. Next scale clip to desired size.

Screen Shot 2014-09-18 at 5.15.48 PM

4. Select the effect controls tab, next to the clip previewer. Under the Motion selections, double click on Rotation. Then input desired rotation.

Screen Shot 2014-09-18 at 5.17.04 PM

5. The clip has now been rotated and should look this. Now to crop the clip.

Screen Shot 2014-09-18 at 5.16.22 PM

6. Under Video Effects in the lower left hand corner, drop down the options and under Transform, select Crop. Then drag the Crop effect over the clip you wish to crop.

Screen Shot 2014-09-18 at 5.18.47 PMScreen Shot 2014-09-18 at 5.18.57 PM

7. Under the Effect Control tab, Crop will appear at the bottom of the menu. Drop down the options (sorry! forgot to screenshot this!) and input the dimensions to be cropped.

Screen Shot 2014-09-18 at 5.19.13 PM

Finished product should look like this!

Screen Shot 2014-09-18 at 5.20.24 PM

I hope you guys found this helpful!

One thought on “Scale it, Crop it, Spin it, quick, reframe it.

  1. While I was filming my video, I also forgot that some of my videos would show up sideways when I imported them into Adobe Premiere Pro. So, like you, I filmed about half of my video sideways. To fix the problem, I reoriented my videos in another program before I uploaded them to Adobe because I wasn’t sure how to reorient video within Adobe Premiere Pro. It definitely would have been helpful for me to know about this feature a while ago, but I’m glad I know now! Thanks for the tutorial! And the perfect song!

    Like

Leave a comment